DCOM History

The Digital Commerce Association of the Philippines (DCOM.PH) was established in December 2011 by a group of e-commerce companies, led by Bob Gantuangco, the Founder and General Manager of TechCellar, who had major clients in the consumer goods distribution and retail industry. Norelyn T. Babiera, from the events management company Fiera De Manila, also facilitated the founding.

DCOM.PH was created in response to the rising popularity of the internet in the Philippines, which reached 25% of the country’s population in 2011, leading to concerns about fraud in the e-commerce industry. The Cybercrime Prevention Act of 2012, introduced just a year after DCOM’s formation, provided protection for Filipinos.

Jonathan ‘Jack’ R. Madrid, CEO of Multiply.com, was the first President of DCOM, followed by Dick Chiang, CEO of Dragonpay, Donald Lim from ABS-CBN, and Bjorn Pardo, CEO of Xend.

Dick Chiang remained as the organization’s leader until 2020, when he appointed Jon Santico as Managing Director to represent DCOM going forward. The top supporters of DCOM were Dragonpay, TechCellar, Fiera de Manila, and Shopinas.

The Executive Director, MJ Panganiban from Shopinas/Dragonpay, worked closely with the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) to bring DCOM’s presence to micro-enterprises. During Executive Director Danny Eguia’s term, DCOM formed partnerships with trade organizations within and outside the Philippines, including countries like Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Japan.

Donald Lim and Eduardo Mapa also promoted DCOM by co-hosting significant trade events during their tenure. Directors Bob Gantuangco, Dick Chiang, Bjorn Pardo, and MJ Pangilinan have become regular alumni speakers at various Internet industry events, where they promote the mission and vision of the Digital Commerce Association of the Philippines (DCOM.PH).

Founding Members and Directors:

Sheila Lina, CEO/President, Shopinas.com, Norelyn T. Babiera, Vice President, Fiera de Manila, Inc., Frederic Levy, President, Cashcash Pinoy, Nix Nolledo – Chairman and President, Xurpas Inc., Hans Eric Roxas-Chua – CEO, eLearningEdge, Bob Gantuangco – General Manager, TechCellar Business Solutions,  Anton Sheker – President, ClassifiedAds.ph, Me-Ann Bundalian – Business Development and Marketing Manager, Sulit.com.ph, Crisela Cervantes – Regional Account Manager, NetBoosterAsia, Dave Condon – Chief Operations Officer, Groupon Philippines, James Perez – President, YugaDeals Inc., Joey Alarilla, Joseph Segovia – Chief Marketing Officer, TechForge Online, Robertson Chiang – Chief Operations Officer, Mozcom, Inc., Gerald Yuvallos – CEO, Global Engine Corporation, Monching Romano – Divisoria.com, Richmond Lim – Time Depot, Mau San Andres – Asia Pay, Abe Olandres – Yugatech, Neejah Peswani – eBay/Great Value Plus, Oliver Segovia  – Ava.ph, Patrick Pulumbarit – Fly SeAir, Jay Fonacier – OdysseyLive.net, Ericson Recana -CompLink.com.ph, Jojo Anonuevo – Ensogo, Edna Belleza – 88DB Philippines, Vincent Caducio – Organica/Sleepasil, Cila Chua – Pisobid.com, Dustin Andaya – IslandRose.net, Eduardo Mapa – Media Contacts Philippines, Maritess Suplico – Goodwill Trading, Ean Abastillas – Zest Air,  Francis Dy -pakyaw.com, Melissa Limcaoco – Smart Communication Inc.